Terror By Any Other Name

I think that iProfessort is really easy for those who have not had a lot of interactions with professors to imagine them like Hollywood makes them; professional, unshakable and brilliant. However, this is actually nowhere near what professors are really like.
They are just trying to make a living by using the many years of school that they have under their belts. And they are fully capable of failing to deliver that grand message of inspiration that Hollywood professors are so famous for spreading.

Well, I wanted to tell you a story about my interaction with a very unprofessional professor.

In my 2nd year of college I decided to take an advanced film class to fill up some credits. I had taken an introductory film class before this from the same professor and genuinely enjoyed it. Now, if you’re wondering what an advanced film class might consist of, it is watching movies that either altered what we know of film, or ones that defined their genre. Then, we would have a big discussion to go over how and why they did what they did and then write a paper to highlight what made them so definitive. Finally, at the very end of our class we were to take one of these films and write a 15 page paper on it.

There were many films that we watched throughout this class, but there was one in particular that I thought was very unique. Therefore, I decided that I would write my paper on it. The film was Michael Moore’s first film titled: ‘Roger & Me.’

Now, if you are not familiar with Michael Moore, let me fill you in.Michael Moore

Michael Moore is a documentarian who takes advantage of the American people by creating propaganda films that are designed to scare people into buying ‘fear prevention’s’ which in the case of Michael Moore, come in the way of more of his films, because nothing sells quite like fear. It is a brilliant tactic when you are selling the truth; but the truth is much harder to sell, even in the form of fear. So, Michael Moore rigs his interviewees and where the shots are taken so that he can sell the “kind of ‘Real Truth’ from the angle that will generate the most fear, and therefore the most money.”

So, back to my story.

When my professor had us watch the propaganda film ‘Roger & Me’, I had a great deal of respect for the movie and for Michael Moore, but not for the reasons that others might have. I looked at this movie and thought to myself “Wow, this movie is just packed full of lies and nonsense. But it is done in such a good way that it could seem believable to someone who was new to the idea of propaganda… And that is brilliant.” So, one week before the class was to end we had to turn in our final reports, and I wrote a paper that clearly explained why Michael Moore was the best propagandists that was alive today. And that he was so successful and skilled in his craft that those who make documentaries will be using the templates that he created for years to come. I titled it ‘Michael & Me.’

Now, I wrote this paper thinking that my professor would love it because it was the truth. It was not based on hate, but rather really told the story that Michael Moore was unmatched in his skill of spreading propaganda. However, the next day I received a call on my cell phone from a number that I had never seen before. When I answered it my professor announced himself. After a few pleasantries his tone changed and he clearly stated why he called. He told me that the bad light that I shed on Michael Moore was unacceptable, and that I would receive a 0% on this paper. I was appalled, but did not back down. I told him that I exceeded this paper in length, citations and concept… it was everything that we were taught in class and it was based on the truth!

He responded by telling me, and I quote: “I never taught you to slander the name of great men, and I never wanted to be the one to break a 4.0 students perfect GPA. So, I will give you the next week to re-write your paper on a different movie.” In other words, he would give me my first grade lower than an ‘A’.

Needless to say I was distraught. I was scared. I remember thinking that this man intends to damage me if I did not bend to his will. ‘I HAVE to do what he says… He could hurt my GPA. The whole reason to go to college! I HAVE TO!!!’

…Until finally, it hit me…

Wait! This is exactly what terrorists do. This is what they demand! “Do what I say or I will hurt you! Do what I believe to be right, or I will kill what you care about!” This is exactly what Michael Moore did to my country. He made them scared. He made them think that everything in our world is out to hurt them.

So, I decided to change my paper… But only the title to better match the situation. The new title was ‘Terror by Any Other Name.’

When I handed it to my professor he took one look at the title and said “Oh Ben, I wish you wouldn’t.” Little did he know that I had made many phone calls to the Chair of my department, and to the Dean of my University. In the end I kept my perfect 4.0 and he and I went our separate ways. But I will never forget how disgusted I felt looking into the eyes of someone who was in a position of power trying to spread terror on my home turf.

I suppose if there is a moral here it is this: Never let them push you around. Whether they’re greedy terrorists like Michael Moore, or a biased Professor. Always stand up for what is right. And always remember that the biggest defense that we have against any form of terror is knowledge.

Leave a comment