Just Own It!

I think that everyone has found themselves in a situation where they have just been caught doing something humiliating. For most of us the same choices go through our heads. Should I:

  1. A) Deny it ever happened.
  2. B) Play it off.
  3. C) Just plain own it.

I know I have been placed in this position many times in my life. In fact, one that just recently happened to me was finding out that I had been calling a friend who, I have known in passing for two years, by the wrong name. (Sorry Josh… err, I mean Jeremy). Well, that story doesn’t have a lot to it, except that I chose option ‘C’ and just owned up to it. I even joked that he was letting me do that for two years and so the fault is as much his as it is mine. Now he and I laugh about it.

Well, about a month ago I was forced to do something on rather short notice that left me far away from anything that I knew and with no company at all. In some cases, I would view this as a blessing, but I had just started my semester and there was so much to still be done. I found myself depressed and feeling so alone. However, during this time someone very close to me went very far out of her way to bring comfort, company and light into my week.

Once it was all over, I really wanted to do something nice for her. However, I am a man of simple tastes, and, to me, flowers seemed like a great way to let someone know that they mean something to you… but alas, the only flowers that I know anything about bloomed from my Venus Flytraps…IMAG0069

VFT Flower

Truth be told, I don’t even know where one would buy normal flowers. I mean, they have those pre-made sets at the grocery store, but I wanted something more personal. This was
going to be a challenge. However, it occurred to me that if I could just find a flower shop, then surely the employees working there could guide me onto the right path.

I searched the internet and found a local shop near me. But as I walked in I saw no employees and no flowers. In fact, it seemed like I was standing in the entryway of someone’s house. I looked back near the door just to make sure that this was indeed the place I wanted, before deciding that I would just wonder around. After passing through a living room and walking past a bathroom I found a large glass case full of flowers. I immediately started to piece together what I was looking for. Perfect! It was just the way I wanted. Now all I had to do was find out where I could actually purchase these from… And a person to help me.

Just like before I figured that I would just wander the building until I found someone. I made my way to the very back of the building where customers were clearly not supposed to be. Standing in the entranceway of the room I finally found the absent employees. There were 3 of them, all about 18 years old and discussing a customer who had made a very large order for a wedding. I made no effort to make my presence known and instead just listened. After about 30 seconds or so, one of the girls looked up and saw me. She jumped to her feet and apologized for not hearing me enter. I smiled, and we walked our way up to the front to pay.

As I paid for my flowers, she and I joked that there should be a bell on the front door. She swore that I was the first to sneak in like that and again apologized. We said our goodbyes, and I walked out of the shop with my flowers in hand. However, once I had made it to my car I noticed that there was a problem with the amount on the receipt. I had over paid them by about $1.50. This is an amount that I would have let slide if I was already on my way to my destination, but considering that I was only 50 feet away I figured that I should go in and get my money back.

I walked through the door and just like the time before there was no one around to greet me. I knew that these 3 young women would be in the back talking amongst each other. So, I took the same path that I had before and made my way to the entrance of the back room.

Sure enough the girls had gone back into conversation, but this time it was different.

The first girl gushed and said, “Well, whoever she is she must be special. I wish a guy like that would buy flowers for me.”

The second girl then chimed in, “I am going to think to myself that he was buying them for his mother. And soon, probably today, he is going to come back in to buy flowers for all of us.”

The first girl then replied, “I wonder what his name is. Do you think it will show on the receipt?!?”

As she said this she jumped up as if she was going to go check the receipt. However, the first thing she saw was me standing in the doorway. She turned bright red, looked away and covered her mouth with both of her hands. The second girl, however, looked up and said, “Oh, you heard all of that, did you? Well, I stand by it. Are you here to buy me flowers?” I smiled and said, “Any kind you would like.”

She walked me up to the front, and her two co-workers followed. She refunded my money, and I thanked them for the assistance and for the good story. As I started to walk out the girl said, “Maybe the next time the flowers will be for me.” One of her co-workers gasped while the other one started to giggle. I turned back around and said, “It will be very lucky men who are able to get girls like you. Luckier than me.” The bold girl turned bright red and, as if she lost her voice, quietly thanked me. I took my flowers to my friend and thanked her dearly for what she had done for me. She too, turned bright red and her voice went quiet.

So, I suppose that there are 2 morals to this story. The first one is only for the men who read my blog… (Ladies, you don’t mind skipping this line do you?) Every girl wants flowers!

The second is that if you find that you have been caught… Just own it. It always ends up better, and sometimes it ends up being a really good story.

4 thoughts on “Just Own It!

  1. This is a great post! It really had me going for a second thinking that you had just wondered into a persons house and took their flowers. Also I had no idea that Venus flytraps had flowers. That is amazing and it is very beautiful! You should make a post about your Venus flytraps. I know that it would not be the same kind of post as your normal ones but it would be amazing.

    • Thank you very much!
      Yeah, the flowers are very pretty, and actually kind of rare.
      You know, I thought about making a ‘Carnivorous Plants’ blog which would include all of the various kinds of plants (there are over 670) and my experience with the ones I have owned. My fear is that most people would be a bit too uneasy to watch these plants eat bugs. And sadly, I think that without showcasing the plants carnivorous nature they would not be interesting enough for their own blog or post.
      But, as someone who reads my blog, you might be the best person to ask. What do you think?

    • Thank you ChaCha. I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed it. Since I know that you have read all of my posts, to hear that it is one of the bests you have read is a real honor.
      Thanks again

Leave a comment