Top 10 Halloween Movies

It’s that time again! My favorite time of the year and my favorite holiday… Halloween!!!

Now, I say time of the year as well as holiday because the actual day of Halloween is only a fraction of what makes this time of year so great. For me, I love autumn, the changing of the leaves, the cooling weather, pumpkins, corn and of course the haunted traditions that have been forged by Halloween.

Since I love this time of the year so much I am always looking for movies that can help really reflect this unique holiday and really get me in the mood to best celebrate the season. This has led me to trying to track down the best Halloween movies out there.

However, there seems to be some confusion in the world about just what a Halloween movie is. Just because something is a horror movie or has some blood and gore does not make it a Halloween movie. Likewise, just because something is dark or noir, does not make it a Halloween movie. Now, I know that there are some Halloween movies that are really all about the blood and gore, with characters like Michael Myers running around who can’t possibly be ignored. But, there is so much more to the holiday season. So, I have compiled a list of the top 10 Halloween moves that will get you in the mood for this amazing time of year.

10.     Blair Witch Project (1999) – This is by a long shot one of the scariest movies that has ever been made… But, it also really gives off the Halloween feel. The story takes place in a forest in the middle of autumn where our group is hunting down some pretty scary stories; and in the meantime they are chased and stalked by a witch located in the woods.

Blair Witch Project is Rated R for language, but it is also very scary. It is not for children.

9.     Earnest Scared Stupid (1991) – This movie might be a bit goofy and a little childish, but it has a very impressive story that will always take you back to Halloween. With a scary forest, a creepy witch and a troll that is stomping around the neighborhood turning the children into dolls, this movie earns its place. Oh, yeah! It is also free on Youtube.

Earnest Scared Stupid is Rated PG for dark and scary overtones. But I believe that most children could handle it just fine.

8.     Casper (1995) – Casper is a classic, since he was the first friendly ghost. This movie is really fun and it all leads up to a school dance on Halloween night in the house that Casper and his uncles haunt. But, in the meantime there are plenty of ghosts and laughs.

Casper is Rated PG for mild language and thematic elements. But I think almost any child could handle it just fine.

7.     Monster House (2006) – This movie is all about Halloween day. Neighborhood kids find themselves lock in an epic battle with a house that they believe is a monster. But, what is great about this movie is the battle that is taking place within our main character as he reaches the point of being too old for Halloween. Should he give it up? Or should he give into his imagination and accept that this house might be eating people.

Monster House is Rated PG for scary images and sequences, thematic elements, some crude humor and brief language. I actually have seen this movie scare some smaller children. Be a bit careful.

6.     Trick-R-Treat (2007) – This movie follows four stories as they intertwine with each other, making one Halloween tale that is packed with all the haunted and evil lore one could hope for. It is a must have on any Halloween list.

Trick R Treat is Rated R for horror violence, some sexuality/nudity and language. It is not for children.

5.     ParaNorman (2012) – This movie was such a great relief to fill that large gap where little or no Halloween movies were being made. It follows Norman, a kid who can see the dead; making him the only one who can battle a vengeful and restless witch, all while running from zombies. What more could you possible ask for around Halloween?

ParaNorman is Rated PG for scary action and images, thematic elements, some rude humor and language, but, I think that almost every child would be just fine watching it.

4.     Halloween – Ah, the franchise that started them all. Since the first one, there have been 9 other movies, from a total of 8 directors. Although a few of them are good, the one’s that I would recommend are either the very first one (1978) or the first one from director Rob Zombie (2007). Both of these correctly tell the classic tale of cursed psycho murderer vs. innocent school girl… and of course, all on Halloween night.

Halloween is Rated R for strong brutal bloody violence and terror throughout, sexual content, graphic nudity and language. It is not for children.

3.     Sleepy Hollow (1999) – This is a great movie all around and will definitely get you in the right spirit. Not only are there witches, haunted woods, mangled and bloody trees, but there is actually a headless horseman running around trying to find a head! Definitely a top contender.

Sleepy Hollow is Rated R for graphic horror violence and gore, and for a scene of sexuality. This is not a movie for children, but I think that most young teens could handle it just fine.

2.     The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993) – This story, as the title implies, deals with two holidays, and even though the main focus may not necessarily be on Halloween, the amazing art, design and songs of Halloween-Town will definitely build that Halloween spirit.

The Nightmare Before Christmas is Rated PG for some scary images like monsters under the bed, a zombie with an ax in its head and of course, Santa-napping… which can be a bit unnerving when the Boogie Man starts to sing a song about him never escaping.

1.     Hocus Pocus (1993) – Hocus Pocus is one of the all-around best Halloween movies that there is. The story has witches, curses, black cats, zombies and actually one of the catchiest songs I think I have ever heard. It defiantly deserves the number one slot in my list.

Hocus Pocus is Rated PG for some scary sequences, and for language. However, this is one that I think almost any child could watch. There are a few fun type of jump scares, and a zombie that is roaming around, but all and all, this is a children’s movie.

There you have it, my list. Do you agree with my order? I would love to know what your favorites are, or if you think that I forgot something. Leave a comment and let me know.

Also, I am sure that you have noticed that ‘It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown’ was not on my list. There are a few reasons for this… Come see why right here.

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Halloween Movies

    • Don’t feel lame. A few of these movies are defiantly not for everyone.
      Interesting point about the other movies. Last year I tried to make a post just like this one about Thanksgivings movies. The problem I ran into was that there are only like 3 good Thanksgivings movies out there. But, I have been keeping a list ever since then, so keep an eye out for that in a few weeks.
      However, I could always use some ideas. Do you have any in mind that you think should go on the list?

      • I really don’t have any in mind. I’m terrible when it comes to movies. I end up watching the same ones over and over. I’m the kind of person that look up every movie available on Netflix and Amazon and go find myself an old DVD…. But if I were to find a list like this one I would be inclined to watch more movies.

Leave a comment